Trainer Spotlight: Hector Melendez

Hector

Personal Trainer through ISSA

American Weightlifting logo

I earned a Bachelors Degree in Sports Science from Lasell College in 2011 and am currently pursuing a Masters Degree in Kinesiology from the University of Texas at El Paso. I changed my major from Athletic Training to Sports Science because I realized that I had a real passion in helping others achieve their goals.

After college, I obtained my personal trainer certification through the ISSA (International Sports Sciences Association) and most recently became a Level 1 USA Weightlifting Sports performance coach. I do however aspire to obtain my Strength and Conditioning certification in the upcoming months. While in college, I played club rugby and also learned and practiced Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. When I am not in the gym, I enjoy watching sports, reading up on current articles in training, and working on my car.

When I am around the fitness center, please feel free to ask me any questions that you may have. I would love to help you achieve your health/fitness goals. Train smarter not harder!

Leave a Reply

